Streaks

Competitive Discussion
Why does it seem that losses always come in streaks. You can sit at an elo and go up and down but without fail you always hit a loss streak. When you climb its always win 2 lose one win 2 lose 2 but over time you climb. I can count on one hand the amount of win streaks i have had in this game since i started playing, but loss streaks are at least a few times a season.

If you go by every game has as close to a 50% chance then win streaks should be just as common as loss streaks. If you flip a coin 100 times you will have times where tails comes up 10 times in a row and you will have times heads comes up 10 times in a row, but in OW thats not the case.

It basically reinforces the long held belief that OW matchmaking forces you into those streaks.

Also please don't give me the tilt argument or your facing better people. I always log off after two loses and season after season I always end up in the same spot. So it isnt a question of skill or being at the wrong elo.
Here's another perspective: Why would Blizzard implement an algorithm that forces losing streaks? That would just make their customers salty!?

Pretty sure Blizzard has figured out a thing or two about gaming psychology and what motivates their customers to buy their products and how to retain them. Forcing losing streaks would be just bad for their revenue (because OW isn't pay-to-win) and I think that's a good enough argument that there's no such thing.
Key word is "seems". Your win rate is 54%. Statistically you win more than you lose, but when you lose, you get frustrated, and you actually question "what's wrong here?" It sticks in your mind, you're seeking a rationalization. In reality it's the exception, not the norm, because you don't seek rationalization when you win.

That's how psychology works. Even players that win more than average feel victimized or targeted when things seem awry.