MASSIVE FPS drop in game

Technical Support
Sup everyone,

I'm relatively new to this game (bought it two days ago), but I do have a number of friends that play that are helping me along. And while I may be new to this game in particular, I am NOT new to games in general, and I do know my way around fixing common technical problems; however, I have reached an issue upon which I cannot fix despite my best efforts, so I now turn to the official forums for some help. I have done my homework on this issue (googling, as well as going through the stickies), so PLEASE read through the entirety of this thread before posting a generic solution, because I have tried all the obvious ones.

First, I should explain my problem. It's quite simple, when I start a game, everything works out fine, but once a lot of units start getting into the game (50+ on the screen at the same time), I get a MASSIVE FPS drop, and when I say massive, I mean literally, from 60 FPS all they way down to <1.

I'll go over my pertinent system specs:

MoBo: Acer WMCP78M (stock)
Chipset: nVidia nForce 720a
CPU: AMD Phenom X3 8400 @ 2.1 GHz
MEM: 4096MB (2 x 2048 DDR2 DSRAM)
GPU: nVidia GeForce GTS 250
HD: Western Digital WD32 00AAJS-00RYA SCSI (320 GB)
Monitor: Acer P191W 19" 1440 x 900

My system isn't godly, but it is FAR more than good enough to run this game. The easiest way for me to do down my possible diagnosis, is simply to list what I have already tried, and what I ruled out.

1) It's not a GPU-not-good-enough-omg-go-upgrade problem. This problem persists whether I run the game on ultra, or if I run on low, both ways I maintain 60 FPS until I hit these ridiculous "lag spikes". Starcraft is NOT a resource hogging game, this GPU is literally 20 times more than powerful enough to play this game with no lag.