Why do the pro gamers wear ear buds+headsets?

General Discussion
Question's in the title
It is ear bud + muffler thing in order to block sound from the spectators and the casters while in the game.

Feel free to correct me if I am wrong :)
While I'm no pro gamer my best assumption would be what fingr stated above or:
headphones for in game sound and to mute the caster, ear buds for their own music.
It is ear bud + muffler thing in order to block sound from the spectators and the casters while in the game.

Feel free to correct me if I am wrong :)
aren't they in a "soundproof" booth?
They are in a soundproof booth, but even still, it does not block out all sound. They wear the headset and buds for optimal sound (despite it potentially being incredibly uncomfortable).
The earbuds have either music or white noise and the headset plays the game sounds.
11/07/2012 10:07 PMPosted by FinnTheHuman
The earbuds have either music or white noise and the headset plays the game sounds.

I think it's the other way around. The headsets are usually noise-cancelling to block out the crowd (I actually have ear protection for shooting that is made by the same company that makes the headsets they use in the GSL.)

Regardless, it is so one is playing game-sounds and the other is blocking out the crowd. If you've ever been to a tournament you know how ridiculously loud they can get, so while the booths are sound-proofed enough that they can't hear people during a lot of the game, when things get wild they absolutely can.

It makes it so they don't have to type "that's just halo" when they make a mothership and their opponent hears the crowd screaming at the top of their lungs.
11/07/2012 10:10 PMPosted by GameOfDrones

I think it's the other way around. The headsets are usually noise-cancelling to block out the crowd (I actually have ear protection for shooting that is made by the same company that makes the headsets they use in the GSL.)