Masterwork Spiritguard vs Malevolent Shield

Paladin
I'm new to tanking as a paladin, and I'm confused by the traditionally desired tanking stats such as parry, dodge vs what I have read recently in forums regarding pally tanks desiring dps stats such as haste, mastery and crit more than tanking stats.

I currently use a Masterwork Spiritguard Shield, but my alt blacksmith just learned to make Crafted Malevolent Gladiator's Shield Wall and I'm wondering if I should give up the dodge/parry from the spiritguard shield and go with the higher item level and dps stats on the gladiator's shieldwall.

Helpful advice appreciated.

*edit* corrected for the wrong item id of the shieldwall
As a prot paladin, you can build one of multiple different ways. You can read in-depth into it in the prot sticky, but the gist is that you can choose to go with the standard avoidance block/parry type build, or you can build for control focusing on either haste or mastery. What you choose depends really on what you like, and when you move up to regular raid content, what your group needs(sort of requires a regular group, likely a guild). For now, choose whichever way you want to build based on what you think suits you.
vs what I have read recently in forums regarding pally tanks desiring dps stats such as haste, mastery and crit more than tanking stats.
First of all, mastery is not a "dps stat", it is a universal stat and has been strong for prot paladins since its introduction to the game. Second, crit is still not a desired stat, the only thing it does for us is extra dps and a very very minor boost for Eternal Flame (it's still simming out for me as having virtually no value at all).

And on that note, dodge and parry were never really "desired" they were just the only other stats left for us aside from mastery/stam/defense (depending on which expansion you look at). They haven't really become any less desirable, we just got a bunch of other stats that actually are desirable now.