Why did you choose to play a priest?

Priest
Just wanted to see how everybody first chose to play a priest. When I started playing I originally rolled a mage because I wanted to play a caster but did not know much about the other casting classes. One day I was strolling around Orgrimmar and saw a goblin shadow priest. It was at that moment that I logged out and created a priest. Once I saw shadow form I thought it was the coolest thing ever haha
I read the class descriptions back in vanilla. I can't remember it but something how it was worded made me think I could dps with holy spells which sounded really fun. (Come to find out that wasn't the case)

Then I proceeded to level as holy in original wow and I'm surprised I made it to 60 looking back. Just kinda been playing it ever since.
Because I love the sound of Prayer of Mending.
I wanted to wield the light but didn't want to be a paladin.

I typically play two types of classes in RPGs. Insane, evil spellcasters or clerics. Since I don't much care for the way warlocks were implemented (in lore, gameplay is fine) in this game cleric it was!

I also like the idea of being just a support person. A priest is there to help. Priestly orders aren't in the spotlight, they aren't the heroes of the story or on the front lines. They rarely get mention in the tales told after the heroic deeds are done but they are nevertheless necessary.
I like the idea of being behind the scenes, unnoticed, but making the fights possible so that everyone else gets to have fun and do their job. That feeling if "you were able to accomplish that because I was there" is cool, especially in BGs when you find someone good to pocket heal and you help them go 40-0 :D
I love to heal. I have 2 of every other healing class. 90 Tauren shaman, 80 Orc shaman, 90 Tauren Druid, 74 night elf Druid, 85 Draenei paladin(mainly used in wrath/cata), 75 blood elf paladin.