New Tank Needs Help!

New Player Help and Guides
Hello all,

I've been playing WoW for the past 3-4 years. I generally play for a few months and then take a few months off, but I am trying to get back into a regular groove after taking about 6 months off. That aside, I really want to get into tanking. The highest level character I have ever had was a 70 rogue, which was fun, but I'm looking for a change. So I decided to go with a warrior.

To get to the point, I would really like some tips for a new tank from some of your experienced people out there. I did my first instance last night, the new Deadmines (frankly, I don't think it lives up to the last one). Everything seemed to go well, but I had a few specific problems.

1. I usually pull 2-3 enemies at a time, but sometimes, I find there will be a caster with a group of melee enemies. I will at that point shoot the caster and then hide behind a wall (LOS) to get them to come to me, is that a good strategy?

2. Another problem I had is that when there is a "hectic" fight. For example, say another group of enemies gets pulled by accident. I find myself trying to hold aggro on 5-6 enemies, and frankly, I just panic and mash thunder clap when its available and taunt the first thing I see. Do I just need experience or is there a method to these encounters?

3. I feel like as a tank, I need to control/direct the group. People always do such dumb things, like when DPS pull mobs. I know this might not be a straightforward question to have answered, but what is the best way to get respect and be listened to in a PUG?

4. Finally, people always talk about rotations when they tank. Should I be working on developing rotations even at such an early level? I know I don't have all of the abilities that I will have later on in the game, but should I start getting into the habit of using a rotation now?

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Oh! And one more thing...