Challenge Mode tips?

Hunter
I am somewhat new to the Hunter class and am not very familiar with Survival (which seems to be the go-to spec for challenge modes). Are there any specific circumstances in challenge modes that hunters do something really special? I am hoping what I lack for in skill I can partially make up with my gear.

Also, Lock and Load: when this procs, do you wait for the dot to wear off or do you use Explosive Shot as quickly as possible?
Well your gear gets scaled down and tier bonuses become inactive.
If you've got any progress on the legendary chain, use the extra socket on your weapon.

You may be called to CC mobs and when you use invis potions, get rid of your pet.

Also, spam LnL, the clipped ticks are rolled into the next dot so there's no damage loss.
Yeah, I know it gets scaled down, but I've only been doing LFR for two weeks so I'm glad to have as many gems as I do. Can't get the extra socket for the weapon unfortunately, and I don't raid (so no heirloom). Thanks for confirming the LnL bit!
Some of the BiS Challenge Mode gear is from ToT so LFR is a good way to get them. Off the top of my head, the legs off Lei Shen and the bracers off the hydra boss are BiS iirc
Why yes, I have several of those pieces. Anything to help out the damage a little bit.
Unless if you're going for realm best time you don't really require bis equipment. Did 8/9 gold on my pally last week with my raiding mates with only one experienced guildie, and all of us are wearing our SoO raiding gear.
Leatherworking drums of speed work use before invis potions.
That's good to know, does it stack with Aspect of the Pack? I hate to admit, but this Hunter was my free level 90 for purchasing WoD. I have only been doing LFR on it the past two weeks, so while I'm not extremely familiar with the class, I think I have the gist of the rotations.