Glyph of Savage Roar vs. Savagery?

Druid
Hello all,

I am really new to feral druid, I stayed away from it because I really dislike having to keep a buff up just to increase my damage.

These glyphs seem to help that situation but I still have questions about it. I know icy veins says Savage Roar is superior.

Currently I am using Savage Roar, but in longer boss fights I still find I have down time where the buff isn't on. I either forget about it, or don't time my combo points correctly and have to wait till I build enough.

If I switch to Savagery will I have a DPS increase? Although it reduces Savage Roar by 10%, I will never have any downtime on the buff.

I know the better answer is to just get more efficient at the class, and that certainly is a work in progress.

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Also be gentle, still new to this guy haha!
Taking glyph of savagery is just gimping yourself in the long run. I recommend just learning to play with savage roar, it'll only help you develop as a player.
If you don't mind me asking, how is taking the glyph gimping myself?

Is there a negative to using it?

Thank you for the response.
01/03/2015 06:02 PMPosted by Hillti

Thank you for the response.

There's a small theoretical loss to using it. From what I've read it's in the neighborhood of a 4% difference on a Patchwerk fight. Anyone have actual sims showing the difference though?
01/03/2015 06:02 PMPosted by Hillti

You're not learning how to play your spec fully, the ~3% dps difference is just a short term loss in this situation.

If you absolutely can't stand using SR then by all means run glyph of Savagery, but I personally wouldn't recommend playing with that crutch. Upkeep of SR is ez-mode as NE, you have Incarnation and shadowmeld + prowl for a comfortable 2 and a half minutes of fully buffed Savage Roar.
A 1cp Savage roar gives you 18sec for the cost of 1 global. Its so worth paying attention to and having the Glyph of Savage Roar.