6 Year anniversary of my time in Warcraft.

General Discussion
Today marks the 6 year point in which I started playing warcraft. That's HUGE to me, so I thought I'd ask the rest of you wonderful folks out there: what made you first start playing World of Warcraft?

Edit: It's been a crazy long journey for me. I've played a warrior with spirit gear in vanilla. (I pulled with a gun. it was bad.) I've lost friends, I've made new ones, I've server transferred, race changed, and even faction changed, but all in all, it's been a ball. Lok'tar!
I started in November 2004 when it went public.

What started me? Before that I played DAOC (Dark Age Of Camelot) for 4 years solid. I occasionally tried other MMOs but always went to DAOC. It was a good game.

When I tried WOW, I never went back. All MMOs have great parts and poor parts, but the WoW team had 4+ years of feedback seeing what worked and didn't work in DAOC, and they "fixed" it's weakest areas, so it's no surprise it was better.

If you compare WoW 4 or 6 or 12 years later with the original WoW, it's the same. Every few years, whatever was tedious or a pain in the butt, they simplified, while inventing new content they hoped would work.
If this is your 6 year anniversary, you didn't play in vanilla...
Kind of a weird way to get into this game, but I didn't even know WoW was a thing until I saw the South Park Episode back in 2006, and that's what got me started playing.
Gratz OP. Hope your next 6 years is just a good if not better.

03/20/2015 01:21 PMPosted by Xue
If this is your 6 year anniversary, you didn't play in vanilla...

I think he meant the 1-60 zones when he was a newb.
I passed my 7th anniversary on February 19th of this year.

When I started playing I bought just the Vanilla box and after some hiccups I leveled to 60.