SMF and you. Updated 4.0.6.

Warrior
1 2 3 33 Next
There's a lot of information on the forums about Titans Grip, but very little information pointed at the other sub spec of Fury; the ORIGINAL Fury.

Updated for 4.0.6 and the raging blow nerf
Please ignore most posts on the first 10 pages of this thread. They are mostly outdated information pre-4.0.6.

I decided to fix that because I hate seeing so many TG warriors. So, here's my guide about the differences between SMF and TG. Some of the things I talk about in here will probably help out my TG brothers as well, especially the part about pooling rage. That's kind of common sense, but I know a lot of good warriors who don't think about pooling rage at all and then complain about being rage starved during colossus smash.

Why should you trust my advice? I have a degree in awesome, and when I'm not tanking (Freaking 3 tank fights) I'm generally ranked on on WoL. I've also spent entirely too much time testing my theories in simulationcraft and in raid encounters.

Talent spec: 8/31/2
http://wowtal.com/#k=BeB4St5V.aei.warrior.RDZPxp

As SMF you do far less weapon damage than TG, as your weapons are 1 handers and instant attacks that deal weapon damage (Slam/Raging Blow) do not scale nearly as well as 2 handers. This increases the value of your AP-based attacks such as Bloodthirst, Heroic Strike and Execute. Also, thanks to the SMF 20% damage buff, these abilities hit even harder than they would with TG. Heroic strike took it dirty-style with 4.0.6, which means that 8/31/2 is now the only spec you should ever have.

Of course you can throw around a couple of points and pickup Piercing howl or whatever, but that's generally what your spec will end up looking like.

Ability priority:
SMF and TG have very similar priorities now with 4.0.6, you’ll no longer ignore raging blow.