Xelnath Post-Mortem I

Warlock
Warlocks in WoW Alpha & Classic

http://xelnath.com/2016/09/08/post-mortem-i-warlocks-in-wow-alpha-classic/
I just finished reading it. I found it to be a rather interesting read; not just from a warlock standpoint, but also from a standpoint of game design in general. It's a worthy piece for anyone of any class to look at, I think.
Damn, I had totally forgotten about spellstones.
Wow, I found it incredibly enlightening, and it seems to me some of the founding principles of the Warlock class: agency, preparation, modality, and utility, have obviously not survived to the present day.
I would love to play a properly polished up version of the class that Xelnath describes.
i forgot about corruption being a 2 second cast
Quite sad to remember why I started playing this class in vanilla and how little of the original design philosophy remains.

Each spec gets "their" pet now, no real choice in the matter. Not much choices or preparation to be found anywhere, really.
09/08/2016 01:28 PMPosted by Vonnik
Damn, I had totally forgotten about spellstones.

I still have one in my bank.
09/08/2016 01:42 PMPosted by Sapph
Quite sad to remember why I started playing this class in vanilla and how little of the original design philosophy remains.

Each spec gets "their" pet now, no real choice in the matter. Not much choices or preparation to be found anywhere, really.

Well, Gateway requires an absurd amount of preparation to bait a gapcloser out of a melee! And then they can use it another 10-20 times while you prepare for your next trip through the Gateway. =P
Also, does anyone else get the feeling that some $hit is about to go down on that blog? Like...he's about to spill some serious truth tea. And the timing is not remotely coincidental.
Me: Why are you giving them a new demon? Metamorphosis is what they want.