I think I screwed up my Artifact.

General Discussion
Not sure where this go as this is my first time posting on forums but I'm pretty sure I just screwed up my artifact.

So I kinda rushed my artifact, sort of on accident. I progressed it into the second phase of the artifact without getting all 20 ranks for the damage increase and it was my first time seeing the second phase of the artifact so I decided to level one of the traits on it and boom.

I'm currently at AK lvl 26 (100,000% increase, which means I'm only getting 200-500k) and it's now asking me for 10 million AP to get one trait in any of my artifact traits. I can't even rank up my Titanic Power (Damage increase trait) anymore. Is this some sort of mistake or did I truly screw up?
You can refund all your traits at the cost of the previous tier's AP cost. Then you can choose the damage increase talent. Alternatively, you can just wait a week or so.
What blizz did is took all the ranks of the old paragon trait and baked them into the first trait in that new ring of traits. So after you upgrade your artifact, you'll just want to spend one point for the damage increase, which is equivalent to having a maxed out paragon pre-7.2. What I would do is just wait till you get enough AP to buy another point, and just put it in that trait. Don't refund, as you're losing quite a bit of AP doing that.
No you didn't mess up. The scaling is exponential and everyone has the jump to 10m for the next trait. This makes it so people don't get too far ahead.

I would just recommend that you look up on Icy-veins your best priority for which talents you should take next. The first couple are pretty fast all things considered, however right now for me it takes I think 308M ap to get my next trait. Just save the least useful traits for last and that's the best way to go about it.