Raid Testing Schedule - August 10-14

7.3 PTR Feedback
On Thursday, August 10th and Friday, August 11th we will be conducting raid tests of Antorus, the Burning Throne. If testing goes well, a number of the bosses tested will remain open on Normal difficulty over the weekend.

Thursday, August 10th

Varimathras - Heroic Antorus, the Burning Throne
13:00 PDT (16:00 EDT, 22:00 CEST)

The Coven of Shivarra - Heroic Antorus, the Burning Throne
14:00 PDT (17:00 EDT, 23:00 CEST)

Aggramar- Heroic Antorus, the Burning Throne
15:00 PDT (18:00 EDT, 0:00 CEST)

Friday, August 11th

Garothi Worldbreaker - Mythic Antorus, the Burning Throne
13:00 PDT (16:00 EDT, 22:00 CEST)

Felhounds of Sargeras - Mythic Antorus, the Burning Throne
14:00 PDT (17:00 EDT, 23:00 CEST)

Friday, August 11th - Monday, August 14th
Kin'garoth, Varimathras, Coven of the Shivarra and Aggramar - Normal Antorus, the Burning Throne

As always, this testing schedule is very fluid and subject to the realities of a PTR environment. We might have to change the time of a testing session, change the bosses being tested, or cancel a test entirely, due to bugs, server hardware issues, etc. Keep an eye on this forum for the latest information, and thank you in advance for testing and providing feedback.

Q: How do I get into the raid zone?

A: In Dalaran, Orgrimmar, or Stormwind, you may speak to Nexus-Lord Donjon Rade Sr. in order to teleport into the raid zone while it is open for testing. (The option to teleport into a zone will not be available when the zone is not open for testing.)

Q: What character should I use to test the raid?

A: Whichever you prefer. We will be scaling players' effective level to 110 for raid testing, and their item level to an appropriate threshold for the encounter(s) being tested.

Q: How long does testing last?

A: The primary purpose of testing is to give us the information we need to balance the encounters, evaluate how mechanics are playing out in practice, and identify bugs. Once we're satisfied that we've received that information for a given boss, we'll be shutting down testing. Usually this takes anywhere from 45 minutes to 2 hours, but there are no guarantees.
I think you guys rounded a lot of corners when coming to the conclusion that you should start raid testing.

Being able to test these bosses ahead of time is incredibly valuable for high end guilds. But testing this content comes with a considerable mental toll when we are still progressing on your current tier. Only 1 guild in the US has even killed KJ and you're already testing mythic. A huge part of raiding is portioning out your time and energy so that you can make it through a 600 pull boss, and when you throw raid testing into that, it actively burns people out.

It's one thing to test heroic / normal for bugs and instance stability, but I know for certain that EU guilds that have been finished with the tier for a couple of weeks want more of a gap. Your last feedback threads were ghost towns for a reason.

We like testing your content for you, most companies don't have a community workforce like that. However you're being flippant when you do it while we are still trying to enjoy the content that you've worked hard to make. It's a lot of work for us to even complete it this fast. Reconsider this pacing in the future.

Some possible solutions:
  • Consistently test each mythic boss x times so that we know if its the first test that we'll definitely have another chance at a later date to test.
  • You've got offices in other timezones, maybe make 2 raid testing time separately for US and EU so that we can all test at reasonable times instead of one of us be in the middle of our work day?
  • Slow down
Slow down. PLEASE. WTFFFFF

Join the Conversation

Return to Forum