Broken under Wine?

General Discussion
My wife and I re-upped for a month two weeks ago to see how it goes, and it's been fun. We got our mains to 110 and have been exploring PvP, dungeons, and questing. We're thinking of continuing our subs. But, today, the game fails to launch. We're playing using Wine on Ubuntu, and it's been fine prior to today.

Is this going to be addressed? It's easy enough to just stop playing again, but I'd be happier having Blizzard not break the code under Wine.
I'm not an expert but could this be a problem with Wine? (also you may get better answers in the technical support forum)
probably has something to do with tuesday maintence. keep checking back. even tho it says the realms are up I never believe they are quite stable until a good hour or so after everyone says they are up. i keep seeing people logging in and out on bnet so i doubt they are stable right now.
I'll try again later, but usually maintenance day, you can launch the client but not connect to any realms. It's likely something unsupported in Wine that Blizzard has implemented. On the WineHQ page someone notes that they've implemented a new copy protection scheme and that that might be related.

https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=33768

But, I don't know. I'll watch the forums and try again later.
While running World of Warcraft on Linux via Wine is unsupported there are a bunch of technically minded folks who have in the past , managed to get wow working after a new patch.

I would keep my ear to the ground and check out the Tech Support forums over the next few days to see what their progress is like.
I am having the same issue. This version of wine has been rumored to work https://github.com/gamax92/wine-overwatch
08/29/2017 09:14 AMPosted by Valyindra