When is rp alive?

Moon Guard
Hello. I created this alt on another server to check out the rp, i found one group that does it every Wednesday but had I to leave the game for a while. However I've heard that Moon Guard is pretty active too. Anyway my questionis when exactly is rp alive, is it only during the first part of the new expansions, while questing is still fresh? I play as a ne so obviously I like their lore and Legion would have been perfect for that, however my main server doesn't even do it and I only started playing legion in May of last year.

Anyway I was flying through Feralas yesterday and thought that it would have been nice to rp through here or any of the ne lands especially during vanilla but I missed that (i started playing in 07) and we are about to go through a major shift in the next expansion.

So does anyone still do active rp or should I want till the next expansion?
New to it myself, and I've seen tons of RP going on. Actually, it's easier to find more RPers at the end of an expansion cycle when all the PvE things people wanted to do are done and we're just waiting on the next expansion content. Most people advert in SW, which also has things going on, and I've heard of a few Night Elf groups that use Feathermoon Stronghold and another spot in Feralas regularly!
I'd recommend floating around on the forums if you're looking for a NE specific group to RP with, but I'd wager that one or two may come to you due to this post. Other than that, it's really about the hours you play. If you play early in the day, you aren't going to find many people. Logging on around peak hours (I'd say from 6pm - 11pm), you'll find a plethora of people standing around in Stormwind. If that isn't to your liking, you could always try and form your own group to go out and RP in Feralas or wherever you'd like.