Why are PuGs so Impatient/Toxic?

General Discussion
1 2 3 6 Next
Title. I've been playing Warcraft for over 13 years. I've done literal thousands of PuGs in that time. Every now and then you get groups that communicate well, are generally pleasant, and even (gasp) make friends.

This probably sounds strange to many of you, because it is the sad minority. The reality of running dungeons with strangers, is that most of them are rude, incommunicative, and act as if any delay to their dungeon clears is a matter of life and death.

I've tried to teach people. Some of them are receptive. I level a lot of alts and enjoy clicking that little flag and teaching people boss mechanics, basic game mechanics and the like, but without fail, there's usually at least one person who takes umbrage with this.

Whether it's a snide comment about the new player's lack of skill, an outright insult, or just a vote-kick without even attempting to communicate, these players are downright hostile to anybody who needs some extra time/help to understand the game.

I've seen this behavior in brand new level 15 parties. Come on guys, give them a chance.

And I get where this comes from, somewhat. I've played each of these dungeons a hundred times or more, I get that you might be bored and just want to level up quickly. But that's really no excuse for being rude and/or hostile to new and learning players.

I've seen this kind of toxicity actively turn people off of the game, and I really wonder why it's so tolerated. Especially with Blizzard taking steps to combat similar behavior in their other games.

I'm kind of starting to think they should start enforcing better behavior in PuGs and LFR, or at least start putting people who abuse the kick feature in their own special queue.

What do you guys think? Are the majority of PuG players toxic/impatient? Is it just certain servers? Is there another reason for it besides just leveling fatigue? Is that a good enough excuse? What do you think?