1080 - Huge performance gains with these changes

Technical Support
Its not window mode hurting your 1080. Window mode is fine, its more how windows interacts with your windows mode.

There are other issues causing this. More then likely the primary issue is because WoW's engine doesn't benefit from threading and with the new player animations and other enhancements its straining one of your GPU's cores, causing it to pass the temperature guidelines for best peformance.

The way to probably fix this is by over clocking your GPU.

However, if you don't have an over clocked GPU....there are things I've done to work around these problems.

I have a base 1080 ti with 11GB and before these changings my FPS was terrible.

Now I can get a stable 100-200 FPS in BGS and outside of raiding. I've been working for 2 months with Blizzard and Nvidia on these optimization changes for Wow. I still have issues in large world PVP groups but I believe this is due to the new player spell and ability animations. Its just to much information going into 1 core.

I also run the game at setting 7 but with environmental detail at 10 and some other small tweaks. This these changes I can run it at 10 on all max with maybe a 10 FPS reduction but I like how 7 looks.

Before doing any of this first off upgrade to latest Nvidia drivers.

1. In WOW I run the game in 1980x1020 and at 100% rendering, and also before this optimizing you must cap the FPS to 100 or 150 and background FPS to 40. If you don't do this your 1080 will go past the 200 max FPS and scale to 400 FPS, potentially over heating it and then causing over heating stutters.

2. I disable all physic interactions in wow under the advance tab under settings and I disabled the following effects by typing these commands in the game:
/console WeatherDensity 0
/console ffxspecial 0
/console ffxGlow 0