How do I fight mages?

Battlegrounds
I'm still kinda new at demon hunter, but sheesh I can't seem to land more than 1 or 2 hits on frost mages. Its root, cc, root, root, frozen, freeze, root root root! My two dashes and 1 leap just aren't enough to keep up, and they have that shield that absorbs the tiny amount of damage I can do when I finally get to them. I have maybe enough time to cast dark slash, but I can't follow it up with anything. I can't land my eyebeams, I can't use chaos strike, nothing. Anytime I get within a mile, they've already CC'd me and blinked away!

Can anyone give me some advice? Its driving me nuts! I can't even land rain from above on them, they blink out of range!
08/17/2018 04:59 PMPosted by Fayara
Can anyone give me some advice?

Stop trying to 1v1 a mage.
08/17/2018 05:02 PMPosted by Herc
Can anyone give me some advice?

Stop trying to 1v1 a mage.

This isn't even in 1v1, this is in bgs with lots of other people around. I can't even attack mages in group settings, they always have some sort of escape. I just started to give up on even trying, but I was just in a Arathi Basin where it was myself and another demon hunter protecting gold mine, and a frost mage came down and beat us both 2v1, we just couldn't get close. I'm not an expert or anything, so I'm just looking for advice on what I should do.
Use your consume magic to remove their shields that will help some

Just as a warrior shouldn’t open with charge make sure you’re not using Fel Rush unless it’s to close gaps not initiate
Did you lose your ranged interrupt? Frost mages are a real pain but I did not think a DH would have too hard of a time.
Consume Magic their shield, keep ranged bleed up, run to LoS and force them to run at you and not the other way around. It's a start.
Trinket nova.