How demanding is raiding?

General Discussion
Just bought the game and I've been having a blast clearing heroic dungeons and doing world quests, so i guess the next step would be raiding?

What i'm wondering is: how demanding is it? mostly on the enchantments, consumables and gems part, are they absolutely necessary for proper raiding?

Any particular profession to max that may aid in this process? either by generating gold to purchase from other players or doing it by oneself.

Thanks in advance.
If you want to raid any level higher than LFR - you should gem and enchant your gear and use the correct consumables. They DO make a difference.
I can't help on the professions - I am not good at making gold. :-(
You can do normal without enchanting your stuff, but its always better to do it. Don't go into heroic without it. Its pretty easy to make money with professions, I personally do jewelcrafting because it means I can make gems for slots myself, and they sell decently well. Money is not too hard to come by.
LFR - Barely,but at all. Just have DBM installed and you'll be fine.

Normal - A little at the start of an xpac. DBM becomes almost a must. Recommend watching the FattBoss Guides from here up.

Heroic - Just needs better gear.

Mythic - This is where it gets demanding. DBM and FattBoss are a must and you'd better in full heroic level gear at worst.
Having gems/enchant/flasks will help the raid. I personally like alchemy because of the double flask duration, making pots and you can make gold by selling them on the ah, but you dont need a specific profession for raiding.

With raiding i suggest that you find a normal/heroic raiding guild on your server for starter. Look up the recruit-spam on trade chat or check your server forum for recruitment post and find a guild that you can raid at their raid time. You can raid on the group finder but it can be quite time consuming and frustrating, instead of a guild.

Hope it help