Character Concept: Half-Gnome?

Wyrmrest Accord
So, I've been tinkering with my future Kul Tiran in my head for a few months now, and after adventuring around in Kul Tiras for a bit, I got a strange idea.

We know that gnomes have a pretty strong presence in Boralus and throughout other areas in Kul Tiras. At least, up until all the gnomes in Boralus mysteriously disappeared, which is obviously foreshadowing SOMETHING. So I got to thinking...

Can humans and gnomes interbreed?

Like, it's implied pretty heavily that the gnomes that have lived in Kul Tiras have lived there for a while - long enough, perhaps, to "cooperate" with the human population in more ways than one. Which means that, if such a thing were possible, there may well be a few half-gnomes wandering around Boralus.

And although there's no real lore precedent for it, come on. Gnomes are, biologically speaking, just really tiny humans. If orcs and draenei can be genetically compatible, I don't see why gnomes and humans wouldn't be.

The only real issue is that I wouldn't get to use that shiny new Kul Tiran human model, but maybe I could play that for laughs.

"You're half-gnome?"
"Yup."
"But you're so...tall."
"My father liked tall women, alright?"

I dunno - your thoughts, Wyrmrest Community?
The lore on the possibility of that is unclear... Generally, I would say if you have a character concept you like, run with it. Just be aware of the two big risks: some people are going to call you names and refuse to play with you (probably no great loss), and Blizzard could retcon your backstory out of possibility at any time.

If you can live with that, by all means stretch your wings! It sounds like a nifty idea.
Ask yourself how this would add to your character in any meaningful way that didn’t go beyond “Oh, you’re X? That’s disgusting/cool.”