How to stop Rogues from base stealing?

Battlegrounds
Please this is a legitimate question trying to find advice for. Im not trying to flame or anything just needing some help and ideas.

So Im new to RBG right now im setting at 1200-1300. Im a protection paladin and I play my hardest and try to communicate as much as I can in battlegrounds.

I've been running into a problem though where my team will tell me to defend a base, such as Stables in AB. What I'll do is call inc and spam consecration for stealth users. But it doesn't seem to work...
I'll get sapped by a rogue and he will capture the point.
I've tried to fight against this... I've spec into having a larger consecration and also bubbling to break my first Sap. He will eventually run away and do it again or blind me. Is there something that im forgetting to do?

Is there anyway I can overcome this? Any advice and tips would be greatly appreciated!!
Thank you!
11/11/2018 02:19 PMPosted by Isenheart

How close are you standing to the flag?
11/11/2018 02:23 PMPosted by Forums

Pretty close. I also stand directly in my consecration.

Do you think I should be keeping a distance from the flag?
When base sitting you need to sit a decent distance away from the flag. That way he hasn't got time after sapping you to run to flag and cap. Then you can just trinket the blind.
11/11/2018 02:28 PMPosted by Drainlifexd
When base sitting you need to sit a decent distance away from the flag. That way he hasn't got time after sapping you to run to flag and cap. Then you can just trinket the blind.

Ahhhhhhhh okay yes.... that makes a lot of sense. xD
Cant believe I never though of that!!
Thank you sooo much! I now know and now you've made me a better player!
Hope you have a great day! :)
11/11/2018 02:25 PMPosted by Isenheart
11/11/2018 02:23 PMPosted by Forums

Yes.

Try standing 30 or 40 yards away from the flag. It may be helpful to be on a mount.