Suggestion - Reply to Ion - Level Squish

General Discussion
I saw a post not too long ago linking to Ion discussing serious consideration of a level squish should it be done correctly. Reading through the thread I saw several good points, mainly in that level squishing would be pointless if the time it took to reach max level remained the same. Though I am not entirely sure why I took a good deal of interest in the idea and after much debate I thought I'd ignore my worries and share it rather than continuously ponder.

Upfront I would like to add the disclaimer that I am no balance expert nor do I speak for / represent the entire community. At it's core this is an example formula and by no means is exempt from tweaks and changes.

***Concept***:
The idea really starts at questioning the significance of a level number. On the one hand I can see where a number as high as 120 itself gives and projects power. On the other hand a number that high presents itself as quite the mountain for new players.

After bouncing a few ideas around in my head I started to like the idea of trade professions except in wow it's your class. In a trade you take interest in it -> dabble -> seek training/education -> work with knowledge persons -> become the knowledge -> master it. Though a master isn't always an expert. As the world develops, research and tech develops if you don't keep honing yourself things move past you, yet you still have your exp and mastery of that time and should you decide to catch up it's not so far a jump.