Quality of life class design

Battle for Azeroth Items and Classes
I could not think of a better title for this post. Disclaimer: incoming rant! I have been a long time WoW player, I started playing in BC, and I truly do love this game and I have loads of fantastic memories playing it. But BFA has done something to me no other expansion could do, and that is to cause me to not enjoy myself while I'm online. For me personally, I could forgive the azerite armor fiasco, the boring repetitiveness of world quests, but I cannot find myself wanting to log in because my class is not fun to play.

There are dozens upon dozens of threads specifically about retribution and holy paladins, so I'm not going to cover what I believe to be all the issues, as those threads are allllll visible, just waiting for someone or anyone at blizzard to take a look. What I am here to talk about is the inequality between specs and how absolutely frustrated I am just trying to get through my preferred content (which is raiding and mythic +).

The example I'm going to use is none other than Havoc Demon Hunters. This is mind boggling to me. As a demon hunter you have access to so many tools, and you are useful in all forms of content, and all the while you are just literally !@#$ting damage. Damage just shoots out of you as if you have "BIG DEEPS AURA" on at all times. So here's my gripe! My niche when I'm playing Retribution is "single target damage". How is it that other classes can do just as much single target damage, and absolutely destroy my aoe damage? And nevermind cleave damage, 'cause I don't have any! "But wait Sarg, you can BoP the peoples and you can use the words of glory!" What does that matter when a demon hunter can nonchalantly jump into the fray, aoe stun, and then spew fel on everything til it's dead?