Suggestion / Plea: Bid on your own auctions

General Discussion
Hi Blizzard,

I don't see a suggestions forum anymore, nor do I see any forum in the forums menu where a suggestion would logically fit. If "General Discussion" is not the right place for this, please move appropriately.

So, I've been playing since day 1 release, 2004. I've seen the game change; daily, monthly, and yearly. Some things have not changed in that time, and for good reason. Some features or restrictions, however, have been removed or reformed. What worked in Vanilla doesn't always make sense 7 years later.

One restriction I'd very much like to see removed is the inability to bid on one's own auction. I never understood why this was in the game, unless it was simply a "courtesy" safeguard to prevent players wasting money by accidentally buying their own items. This seems completely pointless now, especially since we can have characters on Horde and Alliance on the same server.

Let's look at a few examples:

-- Situation 1: Same faction laziness
I have a low level alt and I'm training professions. I just to need spider's silk, so I go to the AH. The lowest price happens to be my own product, which I've listed on another character on my account. I can't bid on this item. Instead, I have to log out, log in, cancel the auction, get the mail, and mail the item to my alt. A much simpler solution would have been to just buy the item from myself, pay the 5% AH fee, and be done with it.

-- Situation 2: Cross faction transferring