Leveling up of companions

New Player Help and Guides
I'm totally new to Wow and purchased the Guardian Cub companion....how does he level up?
He doesn't.
Guardian Cubs are non-combat vanity pets. No need for them to level.
It doesn't. Companion pets (or vanity pets) don't do anything but look cute. They don't fight, they don't level up. They just follow you around.

However, it's been proposed that in the new expansion (Mysts of Pandaria) that there will be a separate combat system for vanity pets allow you to fight your pets against other player's pets. This new expansion won't be out for at least another year. And the pet battle system may not even be included.
11/07/2011 07:44 AMPosted by Selenic
Companion pets (or vanity pets) don't do anything but look cute. They don't fight, they don't level up. They just follow you around.

Some do have actions. My personal favorite is Mojo the love frog.
/kiss him and you turn into a pink lady frog whom he chases while making suggestive comments related to making little Mojo's.

the definitive companion pet site is
http://warcraftpets.com
Since you said you're new to WoW just know that there are several creatures people generally refer to as 'pets' in the game.

-Non combat pets- Also called 'vanity' or 'companion' pets. Any class can have a companion pet. The Guardian Cub is a companion pet. They don't level up or fight with you but some do have some funny emotes they do. You can normally only have one non-combat pet out at a time. If you are a class that has a combat pet you can have your combat pet and non-combat pet out at the same time.

-Combat pets- Combat pets can be controlled and normally have a few special abilities of their own. Combat pets CAN be damaged and killed by enemy players or NPC's.

Hunters of any spec can tame and use beasts to fight with them in combat. The hunter can control them and each has a few special talents.