Advice on building a computer

Games, Gaming and Hardware
I've never built a computer before, but after pricing out good computers online I figured it would be much, much cheaper. -.- Anyway, I'm going to use my tower that I currently have but basically "pimp it out". What exactly should I put in there? I'd need a new processor, video card, etc. Could anyone help me out? I'm lost when it comes to hardware. :/

I want to run WoW smoothly with my settings on high and my various addons not slowing it down.
How old is your PC, and what does it have now? I need to know all the hardware you have in it.

Is the case standard mid-tower?
I want to replace everything it has. It's pretty old. I'd say about 6-7 years maybe. :/ More or less it's a piece of crap and yes the case is standard mid-tower.
I have my monitor plugged up to my laptop right now, so I can't go in and see what all it has.

if it's that old, is it even able to be upgraded? :/

Edit: It's from 2003. xD Even older than I thought, yikes. O.o I put a graphics card in a few years ago so it doesn't have the original, but i'm sure it still sucks now. :)
is it those branded desktops?
i.e. dell/HP/Gateway
I assume case isn't propriety designed cases from Dells and HPs of olde.

In that case...

You will have to replace -everything-, except the case... then might as well as get a new case too. New one you get should have better airflow and space for it.

What is your maximum budget?
If you know almost nothing about building a computer, read this first:

http://www.reddit.com/r/buildapc/comments/f3efg
if you're lost when it comes to hardware, why hassle yourself? my advice is to buy a pre-built one online. something reasonably priced, and if something doesn't work, send it back and have them send you another. works out better than having to figure which part is a lemon when something doesn't work. the power supply? motherboard? memory? etc.