Questions about lore/storyline

New Player Help and Guides
Hi there,

First off, I would like to thank you for taking the time to read this. Now I am new to WoW, have been playing for less than a month now, and I love it. As I am a lore fanatic, I am starting to get paranoid about the whole world changing after Cata, I mean, I was watching the MoP midnight launch, and I heard them talking about Alliance towns that got annihilated by the Horde and the Cata, would anyone be kind as to tell me about those, and if I have REALLY missed out on important stuff by playing WoW after Cata? Another thing, I want to start playing a Pandaren, but, if I do so, would I get to go through the whole storyline of TBC, WoTLK and Cata (killing Arthus and stuff), or just the MoP storyline, as I don't quite understand how all the storyline would work now that I am starting really late. Finally, also, while I was watching the stream, regarding questions that Chris Metzen was answering, I did not understand any of that, but I want to, where would I start, like this thing (http://us.battle.net/wow/en/game/the-story-of-warcraft/chapter1) is too brief and does not go in depth enough, like I have heard about Sargeras, but, who is he, and all the ancient lore about the Warcraft universe, where could I catch up on all of that?

Thanks again and I hope you enjoy your day :D
And sorry about writing so much.
I'm not well-versed enough to really go into any depth about WoW lore. A good starting point would be to check out WoW Insider's Know Your Lore section.

http://wow.joystiq.com/category/know-your-lore/

They discuss a variety of lore related topics and you can use the search function to find specific topics, just add lore to whatever your looking for to keep to Know Your Lore results near the top.