Help with my Mage

New Player Help and Guides
Im new to wow and I'm a lvl 12 almost 13 mage I am currently frost but I saw a lvl 14 guy hitting 125-160 normally in battle grounds using arcane is it that much Better I also would like to know what the best staff or wand I can use under 15 or if I'm better off having a friend help me to enchant one with arcane boosting abilities
A few things:

What items someone has equipped can make a huge difference in the damage they can dish out and take. You still have a lot of "white" items (name is in white text) on your character, which is quite normal for a level 12 character. White items have no stats, they're just there for an the armor value. Items with names in colored text (green, blue, purple, gold, orange) have stats. What stats you need depends on what class/spec combo you are.

You are a mage, all mages want cloth armor with lots and lots of intellect, as much as they can get. Other good stats are hit, crit, haste, and spell power.

Spirit, Agility, Strength, Expertise, Dodge, and Parry do absolutely nothing for you and should all be avoided if you can help it without passing up an increase in Intellect.

Stamina does help you in that it increases your health bar, BUT it's on nearly everything anyway so don't go equipping things that only have stamina on them.

What items you should have in your main-hand and off-hand slots is entirely dependent on what will give you the biggest boost to your beneficial stats. Sometimes this will be a 2 handed weapon, other times it will be a weapon and an off-hand item like and orb or book.

You should never be hitting things with your weapons, use your spells. Your weapons are there merely for the extra stats they provide, so completely ignore any damage numbers they have as they don't matter to you because you won't be using them to hit things.