What happens when I upgrade?

New Player Help and Guides
Hello, I am only a beginner at the game. Never played before and only have a Starter edition account with quite a few 20s. I am thinking about buying a Battle Chest (at some random store because I would like a box version rather than digital) with the Original, Burning Crusade, and Wrath of the Lich King, right? So what happens when I get it? Is there a code I put in or something? Where do i put it, unless it comes with instuctions. And what would happen if I don't have a subscription anymore?
Download the game and then go to your battle.net account page and enter the codes for the game, buying the battlechest will come with a month of playing time so no need to worry about that.

Welcome to Azeroth!
"Download the game"

When you say that, does that mean download the game that comes in the box?
Box version as far as I know gets you expansions up to and including Wrath of the Lich King, but you will have to download the rest of the content via the launcher depending on what box version you happen upon in your brick and mortar store. You'll get a key in the box that you enter in your battle.net account and it will unlock the Starter Edition restrictions and start you off with your Free Month (note that you will also have to subscribe to WoW before this, but you will not be charged until your free month is over). If your game time runs out with no subscription, you are locked out of all in-game features of WoW until you renew your subscription.
11/06/2012 11:36 AMPosted by Shiku
"Download the game"