Balance druid- garbage dps

Druid
Why is balance druid so bad dpswise? Am I missing something? We are pulling so much less. I have pre-90s pulling more.
You must be severely undergeared and/or unskilled.
That's a bit harsh, but basically correct. At lower gear levels, balance puts out pathetic numbers. The spec is very gear dependant. It's also not terribly easy to play, with movement being very punishing. Once you get past those two problems balance is pretty decent.
It will be okay! When gearing up our dps is not great, however now ( and my gear still needs a lot of improvement) I am in the top 7 for LFR and 1st or 2nd in heroics. I'm not an expert but make sure you are reforged(I like askmrrobot), enchanted, and using your cool downs whenever available. Keeping dots up on as many targets as possible. Our rotation isn't very forgiving so that screws me up sometimes. The same thing happened last expansion, we are VERY gear and rotation dependent as poster above stated. It will get better :)
It IS apparently the lowest of the two DPS specs according to Simcraft. It's lowest by quite a lot too. With Feral coming in at just under 100k theoretical DPS, and Balance coming in at 88k theoretical.

The spec just seems to be lackluster this tier, but changes always happen. If you love the spec, stay with it. Gear will make it better, as well as personal skill. I was Balance at the beginning of the expansion, but changed to Feral not long after hitting 90 since my guild didn't have a Feral, and I had previous heroic raiding experience with Feral.

The point I guess I'm trying to make is: If you enjoy the spec, gear it up and get good at it, and you'll do just fine. Don't change specs just because you think it sucks. No spec is so terrible that it's not viable at the moment.
If its fine then where are all the moonkins? I don't see any around. Its a shame when only a select few can be good at moonkin.