How to use SimCraft correctly?

Warlock
Since EJ seems to be pretty well-gone as far as guides are concerned, I've been spending a lot more time fiddling with SimulationCraft. Unfortunately, though I have been able to obtain scale factors, I'm having trouble putting them to good use.

Could someone explain to me how to read/use the stat deltas in SimC? Regemming changes my scale factors for mastery/haste/int enough to change their priority, and finding the correct balance through trial-and-error will be unpleasantly time-consuming.
I'm not an expert or anything, but from what I've read on other guides (including ones on EJ) you want to gem/enchant before you reforge your gear. What I'll do is first run my character through SimC to get my scale factors. Then I'll figure out what gems to use manually with some simple math:

Lets say your Intellect and Mastery scale factors are 3.0 and 1.7 respectively. You'll want to multiply each one individually by the gem's stat. (ie; 160 * 3 = 480 for pure int, 320 * 1.7 = 544 for pure mastery, and (80 * 3) + (160 * 1.7) = 512 for 80int/160mastery) The higher the result, the higher its DPS value. So for this example you would want to use 80int/160mastery gems for red sockets, and pure 320 mastery gems for yellow sockets. You can check gems against all your scale factors to be sure. Also you'll want to add in the socket bonus as well to make sure matching colors are worth it or not.

Once you've gemmed/enchanted properly you can run SimC again and either take the new set of scale factors into a reforge tool like askmrrobot.com, or if you're patient you can figure out reforges yourself based on those new stat priorities. Personally I use askmrrobot. If something seems out of place I'll export the results to SimC to check how it performs in simulation before I actually spend gold on reforges in game.

Hope this helps somewhat. :)