So...

General Discussion
I was watching Zombieland the other day (for the first time since I started playing WoW).

At the beginning of the movie, it shows Columbus playing Wow, and as I was busy online while it was on I was only half paying attention to it.

And yet, just from hearing the sound effects, I could tell he was playing a rogue. Is it bad that I can identify the class just based of the SFX?
Is it bad to be familier with something you enjoy? I know guys who can tell what kind of car I drive just by the sound of the engine rumbling. Is that sad?
The stealthing sound effect is pretty recognizable.

Especially if you're cloth in a bg, hunter pets making that noise still freak me out a little
Well I figured it out cause he was spamming FoK.

01/09/2013 11:12 AMPosted by Dalaron
Is it bad to be familier with something you enjoy? I know guys who can tell what kind of car I drive just by the sound of the engine rumbling. Is that sad?

I guess this is true
I used to be pretty good at putting my hand on a computer and telling you what was wrong with it... basically you get used to the proper sound(feel) of the fans, including the 'big fans' and the cpu fan, or even the power supply one. If something was really off or rattling, that's obvious... but you could also pick up on more subtle things like if the hard drive was swapping needlessly.

Humans are pretty awesome in being able to tell all kinds of things just by sound.
I can identify paladins by the sounds.

Sometime over the summer I was in a pug DS run. The offtank didn't speak much English, and I don't think he understood that we needed him to be dps for the fight, not tank. In the middle of the fight, I notice that I'm hearing the sounds of Shield of the Righteous, and I think "wait, the tank is a DK, why am I hearing that?" And then I realized that the offtank was dpsing in prot...