Healing, Specs, and PvP

Paladin
Since I hit 90 (a bit over a week ago), I've mostly been running Instances and random Battlegrounds (as heals). I've become fairly decent at healing PvE (I'm not good, but so long as everyone else knows how to play, a wipe probably won't occur), but I'm horrible in PvP.
Last night, I was playing in Arathi Basin and I was killed by a Hunter's pet wolf. I think. It might've been a druid, maybe. But it was embarrassing.
I should say that I'm not very good at WoW, in general. I played a Warlock (along with this Paladin, but not much) in Cata, and I was pretty mediocre.

So this is kind of more related to class healing, but we're all Paladins here, right?
I just have a few things on my mind:
- How should I go about healing in RBGs? (even vague, general suggestions would be nice)
- Is PvP Holy stat priority much different from PvE (Int/Spirit > Mastery > Haste > Crit)?
- Is PvP gear really important for healing in PvP?

Also, from what I can tell, am I right to say that I should probably avoid Ret, end of story? Ret was pretty good in Cata, so I kind of always wanted to be that awesome. Just don't know about sticking to only Healing.
First things first, need to urgently replace your gloves and belt to plate so you can get the plate specialization bonus. From what I currently see the gloves are mail, and the belt is leather. The specialization gives you a 5% bonus to intellect!

Yes, PVP gear is pretty important in any PVP situation for any class, period. Let's you live longer against other players. Plus PVP power increases your healing in PvP areas like Battlegrounds and Arenas.