Prot Pally DPS Questions

Paladin
Ok, so this is my first time tanking and I went with Pally because they seemed the easiest to learn on top of having major self-heals.

I haven't had any major problems with playing tank (that I'm aware) until now. I hit level 82 and around level 81 I realized I was having an extremely hard time doing any damage.

In three different dungeons, I solidly hit the #2 spot on recount for overall damage in all dungeons. #1 went to a hunter twice and a lock once. All those times, their DPS was double mine.

My understanding is that a tank is a mitigator, we're not about damage as much as we are just there to hold the attention of mobs for DPS to down. However, it seems like a perk to being a tank is you generally hit the top of the DPS meter. (It didn't help that the healer was insinuating on the last dungeon that the Lock should just tank and they switched their healing priority to the Lock's pet and the Lock herself. This is what made me start thinking, something must be wrong.)

So here are my questions:
1 -- Am I doing something wrong by not being the top contributor to damage in dungeons?
2 -- Is my gear somehow all wrong? I know I need to replace my BoA cape, but I thought that essentially my gear was OK.
3 -- Would using another Seal make a difference in damage-dealing? I was actually tanking with Seal of Truth since it became available. I only switch to Seal of Insight if the healer dies or we're at a near-wipe. I've never really touched Seal of Righteousness.
Honestly, tank damage becomes less OP the higher levels you get to, unless you're severely overgeared and/or overlevelled for the dung you're running, DPS should be competing or destroying you at your level, depending on their class, spec and if it's an AoE pull or a single target fight.

If you really want to have some fun, AoE pull everything with SoI & SS up, and hope your healer can keep up. More mobs hitting you = more vengeance = more DPS.