Guardian Tank help

Druid
Hello everyone,
I'm rather new to tanking and am the OT for progression. I was recently told that I'm taking too much damage and need to do something about it. Any Guardian tanks willing to impart some knowledge?

All my WoL are located here : http://worldoflogs.com/reports/rt-8kqbnfihsnn8exr8/

Thanks again =)
Why are you tanking the boss the entire time?

It's basically because you're taking so many TPs. Everything else you're doing is fine.
Well, there are 2 ways to Forge / Gem ... it looks like your going for active midigation

Your Dodge -> haste reforge on your shoulders is kinda strange but meh.

For active mitigation you want to:
- Use Mangle on Cooldown
- Keep Thrash up on target 100% of the time
- Use Savage Def as much as possible (this is the active mitigation part ... pretty much want it rolling 100% of the time)
- Use Maul to dump extra rage

If your healers are still complaining about you taking too much dmg because you suck at active mitigation (some people just cant do it very well) you could rejem / reforge to dodge.

I for one have been Tanking all the content you are cept ToT norm in kitty gear just using active mitigation. Healers say I take less dmg than some of the other offtanks that have more gear ... so it is possible just takes practice.

Edit: I filtered your Horidon Attempts by Uptime of your Savage Def

http://db.tt/GHbwHNn5

its going up then falling off ... then back up and falling off. Try grabbing an addon like WeakAuras, set it to track SD uptime ... and try to keep it up like 80 to 90% of the time. End result should change the picture I linked to a almost solid green bar of uptime and alot of happier healers.

I also noticed that when your dmg goes up ... your SD uptime goes down ... im guessing whats happing is your dmg is spiking due to Thrash / Swipe on lots of adds ... if your tanking all those adds your hitting you should really be keeping SD up for that part.