Freeing up a name

Wyrmrest Accord
Anyone know, if you delete a character is the name immediately available to you? I have 2 very basic common names from characters I rolled at realm start. I never used these alts, and won't, but I do want at least one of the names.
Yes, it should open up immediately after you delete them.
However, you won't be able to join the same guild you were in with the same name unless you explicitly leave the guild before deleting the first character.

Trying to do otherwise will most likely require GM intervention to fix, has happened to me before.
"Freeing up a name" sounds like a mafia slang term to me.
"Freeing up a name" sounds like a mafia slang term to me.
Let me just...
free that name up for you...
for a nominal fee, of course.
Yeah, I had a placeholder toon pre-MoP for what would later be my monk. Soon as I deleted the placeholder, I was able to use the same name for my monk.

The name lock period of 90 days only applies to other players trying to get old names that weren't previously theirs.
The name lock period of 90 days only applies to other players trying to get old names that weren't previously theirs.


To clarify, you must wait 60 days (I think it was shortened) to use a name that was not previously used on your bnet account -unless- the character is a level 1.

If the character is level 1, it becomes immediately available for anyone.

(I have two accounts and held names for a few people pre-MOP)
Thanks for the info. I rolled these guys to have a look around way back, and they've been perpetually stuck at about level 5 since then.

Join the Conversation

Return to Forum