Hello :D

Paladin
Hello fellow knights! My name is Larsardion and I just recently returned to the world of Azeroth after a long break and I've decided to come back as a paladin. I'm completely new to the class and I just wanted to introduce myself to the forums here because you are most likely going to be answering (or at least reading) a lot of stupid questions from me about paladins. Another reason is to hopefully get some advice from the more seasoned people on these forums.

Larsardion
Welcome back to Azeroth fellow paladin. Good to have another brother on the front lines. I'm not a seasoned retribution paladin. Don't even know why I took it as an off spec because I never switch to it. I can how ever shed some advice on Protection. I've been a protection pally since the very beginning of Burning Crusade. Was a hunter back in Vanilla. I can honestly say I've enjoyed every level.

The forums will and are going to ask you what type of paladin you're wanting/going to be. Full time Ret or full time Protection/Holy. Are you going PvP or PVE. I don't pvp so I will not touch that. As far as protection goes it's easy. Very very easy. You have got to keep your eye on your surroundings rather it's watching your healers mana or watching stragglers going after someone else. Make use of all your skills and know what each will do to benefit you and keep your team alive. As far as gear goes don't worry about it now. Once you get into your 80's it'll be time to start piecing things together.

Get you some glyphs depending on your class. IcyVeins will cover all that. I don't know which route you are taking but good luck to you OP. An example rotation I do is this:
(Group) Avengers Shield>Reckoning on the mob it didn't hit>Hammer of the righteous(Weakens the blows against you)>Holy wrath>Concecration>Judgement>Shield of the Righteous. That's just part of it. It's really simple. Good luck OP.