Flying in World of Warcraft

Updated: 1 month ago
Article ID: 108493
Relevant Products:

Common Problems

  • Have the flying skill but cannot fly in Draenor
  • How do I unlock flying in the Broken Isles?
  • Is the pathfinder achievement account-wide?

You can learn how to ride flying mounts at level 30. Simply talk to a riding trainer in a capital city to add the Expert Riding ability to your skills book.

Expert Riding allows you to fly in any zone except the no-fly zones listed below, and Battle for Azeroth zones, which requires the Battle for Azeroth Pathfinder, Part Two achievement.

The achievement is Blizzard Account-wide but region locked. You can progress towards the achievement with all characters in your Blizzard Account on one region. Once you earn the achievement in one region, all characters in that region will be able to fly.

No-fly zones

Most instanced content is a no-fly zone (scenarios, dungeons, raids, battlegrounds, and arenas). There are multiple open-world no-fly zones as well:

  • Silvermoon, Eversong Woods, and Ghostlands
  • Exodar, Azuremyst Isle, and Bloodmyst Isle
  • The Darkmoon Faire and Darkmoon Island
  • Tol Barad
  • The Molten Front
  • Isle of Thunder and Timeless Isle
  • Tanaan Jungle (intro zone)
  • Argus